German National Champ Pascal Ackermann sprints to victory in Giro S2

German National Champ Pascal Ackermann sprints to victory in Giro S2

Pascal Ackermann won a high-speed bunch sprint on his Giro d'Italia debut to claim the second stage in Fucecchio.

Bora-Hansgrohe rider Ackermann edged out Italy's Elia Viviani and the Aussie, Caleb Ewan, to win the stage out of the bunch.

The bunch finish meant no change to the overall lead, with Slovenia's Primoz Roglic still in the pink jersey after the 205km stage from Bologna.

Team Jumbo-Visma's Roglic has a 19-second lead over Britain's Simon Yates.

Two-time Giro winner Vincenzo Nibali, of Bahrain-Merida, is a further four seconds behind the Mitchelton-Scott rider, from Lancashire, in third place overall.

German national champion Ackermann, making his Giro debut this year, just avoided a rider crashing in front of him during the finale before holding off Viviani, the Italian national champ.

Australian Caleb Ewan of Lotto-Soudal came in third behind the Deceuninck-QuickStep rider, with UAE Team Emirates' Fernando Gaviria fourth.


"I'm so happy, this is my first chance to win a stage and we did it,

We were super motivated. It bodes well for the rest of the Giro.

We saw with 250 metres to go that none of the sprinters had started the sprint.

I decided to take my speed and go full gas and luckily it was enough."

The race continues on Monday with a 220km stage from Vinci to Orbetello.

S2 result:

1. Pascal Ackermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) 4hrs 44mins 43secs

2. Elia Viviani (Ita/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) Same time

3. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal) Same time

4. Fernando Gaviria (Col/UAE Team Emirates) Same time

5. Arnaud Demare (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) Same time

6. Davide Cimolai (Ita/Israel Cycling Academy) Same time

7. Vyacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus/Team Katusha-Alpecin) Same time

8. Jasper De Buyst (Bel/Lotto-Soudal) Same time

9. Kristian Sbaragli (Ita/ Israel Cycling Academy) Same time

10. Rudiger Selig (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) Same time


GC after S2:

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Team Jumbo-Visma) 12mins 54secs

2. Simon Yates (Gbr/Mitchelton-Scott) +19secs

3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +23secs

4. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +28secs

5. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Team Sunweb) Same time

6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +33secs

7. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Gbr/Team Ineos) +35secs

8. Laurens De Plus (Bel/Team Jumbo-Visma) Same time

9. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) +39secs

10. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +40secs

Resources/Credits": BBC/Eurosport/Getty